Allan Barker Memorial

Allan Barker Memorial

The Allan Barker Memorial trophy is to remember Allan who raced under number 179 from the stock car breeding ground of Mirfield, West Yorkshire, he was one of the sport’s larger than life characters. He began racing in 1971 and remained registered until 1990, although his racing had curtailed somewhat by then. Allan was a prolific car builder but, ironically, one of his best seasons was when using the Stuart Smith second car!

Allan won 16 Grand Finals, the first at Aycliffe in 1973 with the last at Northampton in 1979. Allan ‘retired’ from the sport periodically and dropped down the grades accordingly with many of his Grand Final wins coming as a yellow or blue top. Allan was also actively involved behind the scenes in his later years with the BSCDA.

Allan sadly passed away in 2006. The memorial trophy was first raced for at Coventry in 2006, with Frankie Wainman Jnr (515) the first winner. The trophy is presented to the driver who takes the Grand Final win at the annual Trust Fund meeting.

Full List Of Winners

2006CoventryFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Andy Smith (391)Paul Harrison (2)
2007CoventryAndy Smith (391)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mat Newson (16)
2008CoventryMark Gilbank (21)Andy Smith (391)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2009CoventryJohn Lund (53)Paul Harrison (2)Andy Ford (13)
2010CoventryMat Newson (16)Tom Harris (84)Chris Brocksopp (338)
2011CoventryPaul Harrison (2)Neil Shenton (35)Craig Finnikin (55)
2012CoventryDan Johnson (4)Mat Newson (16)Tom Harris (84)
2013NorthamptonMichael Scriven (12)Luke Davidson (464)Ryan Harrison (197)
2014NorthamptonTom Harris (84)Daniel Van Spijker (231)Michael Steward (512)
2015NorthamptonDave Allen (499)Colin Goodswen (372)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2016NorthamptonFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Will Hunter (220)Dan Johnson (4)
2017NorthamptonScott Davids (462)Dean Whitwell (195)Dan Johnson (4)
2018NorthamptonDan Johnson (4)Tom Maris (H161)Daz Kitson (532)
2019King's LynnNigel Green (445)James Morris (463)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2020Event not held---
2021NorthamptonTom Harris (1)Craig Finnikin (55)Mat Newson (16)