Trust Fund

Trust Fund


The Trust Fund was setup in 1976 following the tragic loss of Brian Wallace (119). Brian, from Farnworth in Lancashire, started racing in 1972 but was tragically killed in a crash at White City, Manchester in June 1976. Racing with a red roof, the throttle of the 119 car jammed open and crashed flat out into and almost through the safety fence. Following the incident many changes were brought into the sport with regard to car construction and safety fences. Brian won 40 races in total during his relatively short racing career including three Grand Finals, two at White City in 1973 and one at Aycliffe in 1974.

The Trust Fund was created to help the drivers and their loved ones in the event of injury or loss of life. The fund has helped a number of drivers and dependants over the years following accidents while racing. 

The Trust Fund race started in 1977 and has been run every year since with various tracks playing host to this important race with the latest running in 2019 hosted at King’s Lynn. Following the race the drivers come amongst the crowd to ask for donations to the fund and each year the fund sees a significant boost from the fans because of this.

How it Works

The Trust Fund race is a single race usually doubling as a Heat, open to all superstar and red top drivers in attendance at the meeting. Depending on the entry, this may be opened up to drivers who have been a red grader during the year, but this depends on the car numbers in attendance.

The race is run over sixteen laps with the grid organised in graded order with no gaps between the grades.

The winner is the driver who crosses the finish line first.

Defending Champion – Drew Lammas (543)

Photo: Colin Casserley

Title and Roof Colour

TitleTrust Fund Champion
Roof ColourNone

Most Wins By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)4
2Murray Harrison (97)3
3Stuart Smith (391/1)2
=Andy Smith (391)2
=Mark Gilbank (21)2
=Paul Ford (388)2

Most Podiums By A Driver

1John Lund (53)7
=Frankie Wainman Jnr (515/1)7
3Andy Smith (391/1)6
=Mark Gilbank (21)6
5Dave Berresford (260)4
=Frankie Wainman (212)4
=Murray Harrison (97)4
=Peter Falding (33)4
9Stuart Smith Snr (391/1)3
=Bert Finnikin (55)3
=Danny Clarke (203)3
=Steven Cayzer (380)3
=Tom Harris (84/1)3
=Mat Newson (16)3
15Paul Harrison (2)2
=Michael Scriven (12)2
=Gaz Bott (41)2
=Rob Cowley (73)2
=Tom Harris (84)2
=Ray Tyldesley (85)2
=Mick Sworder (150)2
=Ray Witts (180)2
=Len Wolfenden (190)2
=Richard Mason (202)2
=Lee Fairhurst (217)2
=Paul Hines (259)2
=Paul Ford (388)2
=Nigel Green (445)2
=Scott Davids (462)2
=John Cayzer (495)2
=Craig Finnikin (55)2
=Bobby Griffin (166)2

Full List Of Winners

1977BradfordStuart Smith (391)Frankie Wainman (212)Mike Close (199)
1978SheffieldAndy Stott (160)Pete Hodgson (131)John Lund (53)
1979NorthamptonLen Wolfenden (190)Stuart Smith (391)Frankie Wainman (212)
1980BradfordJohn Hillam (229)Bill Batten (167)Bert Finnikin (55)
1981CoventryMo Smith (51)Len Wolfenden (190)Bert Finnikin (55)
1982Long EatonBrian Tuplin (155)Willie Harrison (2)Dave Mellor (304)
1983LeicesterJohn Cayzer (495)Gerald Taylor (250)Bert Finnikin (55)
1984SheffieldRob Pearce (281)Ray Tyldesley (85)Danny Clarke (203)
1985Belle VueStuart Smith (1)Mick Noden (306)Nigel Whorton (422)
1986CreweDave Berresford (260)Frankie Wainman (212)Bobby Burns (471)
1987NorthamptonJohn Cayzer (495)Frankie Wainman (212)Richard Ainsworth (354)
1988Long EatonJohn Lund (53)Dave Berresford (260)Peter Falding (33)
1989SheffieldPaul Harrison (22)Danny Clarke (203)Ian Platts (77)
1990BuxtonDanny Clarke (203)Peter Falding (33)Ray Tyldesley (85)
1991BradfordFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Rob Cowley (73)John Lund (53)
1992SkegnessMurray Harrison (97)Phil Smith (109)Peter Falding (33)
1993SkegnessKev Smith (64)Gaz Bott (41)Steven Cooper (221)
1994BradfordPeter Falding (1)Dave Berresford (260)John Lund (53)
1995StokeMatt Bennett (413)Des Chandler (213)Richard Mason (202)
1996SkegnessGaz Bott (41)John Lund (53)Ray Witts (180)
1997BradfordAndy Smith (391)Dave Berresford (260)John Lund (53)
1998NorthamptonFrankie Wainman Jnr (1)Richard Mason (202)Murray Harrison (97)
1999Belle VueRay Witts (180)Andy Turner (488)Andy Jacklin (137)
2000King's LynnAndy Smith (391)John Lund (53)Paul Harrison (2)
2001SheffieldMick Harris (8)Chris Brocksopp (338)Lenny Smith (185)
2002SheffieldFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Rob Cowley (73)John Wright (128)
2003King's LynnMurray Harrison (97)Jason Holden (38)Mark Woodhull (335)
2004CoventryFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Andy Smith (391)Steven Cayzer (380)
2005CoventrySteven Cayzer (380)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mark Gilbank (21)
2006CoventryMark Gilbank (21)Steven Cayzer (380)Frankie Wainman Jnr (1)
2007CoventryJames Neachell (322)Mark Gilbank (21)Andy Smith (391)
2008CoventryDan Squire (291)Mark Gilbank (21)Andy Smith (391)
2009CoventryMurray Harrison (97)Mark Gilbank (21)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2010CoventryEd Neachell (321)Tom Harris (84)Scott Davids (462)
2011CoventryMark Gilbank (21)Andy Smith (1)Paul Hines (259)
2012CoventryDan Johnson (4)Mat Newson (16)Tom Harris (84)
2013NorthamptonMichael Scriven (12)Luke Davidson (464)Ryan Harrison (197)
2014NorthamptonMick Sworder (150)Lee Fairhurst (217)Danny Wainman (212)
2015NorthamptonPaul Ford (388)Michael Scriven (12)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2016NorthamptonPaul Ford (388)Mick Sworder (150)Todd Jones (186)
2017NorthamptonScott Davids (462)Will Hunter (220)Nigel Green (445)
2018NorthamptonBobby Griffin (166)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)Mat Newson (16)
2019King's LynnCraig Finnikin (55)Paul Hines (259)Nigel Green (445)
2020Event not held---
2021NorthamptonTom Harris (1)Charlie Sworder (5)Craig Finnikin (55)
2022SkegnessDrew Lammas (543)Bobby Griffin (166)Mat Newson (16)

For more in-depth historical information in relation to the Trust Fund please follow the link below: