Bumper Trophy

Bumper Trophy


First raced for in 1978 under the name of the Yuletide Stock Car Tear Up Trophy, won by Colin Taylor (135). The Bumper Trophy returned in 1981 at Rochdale with Willie Harrison (2) taking the win. Since 1996 the Bumper Trophy where possible has been run at a new or returning (non regular) track, where this is not possible it was designated to a random track.

Across the years Frankie Wainman Jnr (515) leads the way in terms of wins with six to his name with Andy Smith (391) in 2nd with four wins.

Neil Scriven (11) is the reigning champion having lifted the title in 2018 at Lochgelly.

How it Works

Title given to a driver who wins a specific race within the meeting designated to run this event, this could be a Heat, Final or Grand National.

Defending Champion – Neil Scriven (11)

Neil Scriven (Tarmac) – Photo: James Bowles
Neil Scriven (Shale) – Photo: Marvin Hall

Most Wins By A Driver

1 Frankie Wainman Jnr (515/1)6
2Andy Smith (391/1)4
3Len Wolfenden (190)3
4John Lund (53)2
=Craig Finnikin (55)2
=Frankie Wainman (212)2

Most Podiums By A Driver

1 Frankie Wainman Jnr (515/1)11
2John Lund (53)7
=Andy Smith (391/1)7
4Paul Harrison (2)6
5Peter Falding (33/1)5
6Dan Johnson (4)4
=Len Wolfenden (190)4
8Stuart Smith Jnr (390)3
=Tom Harris (84/1)3
10Mat Newson (16)2
=Mark Gilbank (21)2
=Ian Higgins (29)2
=Craig Finnikin (55)2
=Les Spencer (98)2
=Harry Smith (100)2
=Glyn Pursey (175)2
=Richard Mason (202)2
=Frankie Wainman (212)2
=Mark Duxberry (234)2
=Gary Castell (247)2
=John Toulson (286)2

Full List Of Winners

1978Belle VueColin Taylor (135)Bryan Warner (90)Brian Powles (154)
1979Event not held---
1980Event not held---
1981RochdaleWillie Harrison (2)Neil Brigg (87)Glyn Pursey (175)
1982Belle VueAndy Shaw (347)Glyn Pursey (175)Colin Gaurtry (488)
1983BlackburnLen Wolfenden (190)John Lund (53)Mike Close (199)
1984SkegnessHarry Smith (100)Stuart Smith (1)Andy Stott (160)
1985AycliffeLen Wolfenden (190)John Toulson (286)Harry Smith (100)
1986Newton GrangeFrankie Wainman (212)John Toulson (286)Richard Ainsworth (354)
1987MildenhallFrankie Wainman (212)Len Wolfenden (190)Peter Falding (33)
1988ScunthorpeGraham Blundell (156)Ian Higgins (29)Mark Duxberry (234)
1989NorthamptonLen Wolfenden (190)Les Spencer (98)John Lund (53)
1990Hartlepool Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Russell Taylor (544)Richard Mason (202)
1991CreweJohn Lund (53)Mark Duxberry (234)Les Spencer (98)
1992BostonMatt Bennett (413)Graham France (216)Des Chandler (213)
1993Hartlepool Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)David Toulson (86)John Lund (53)
1994HartlepoolJohn Lund (53)Andy Smith (391)Shane Dorrell (371)
1995StokeRichard Mason (202)John Lund (53)Andy Smith (391)
1996Wimbledon Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mike Smith (393)Peter Falding (33)
1997SheffieldPeter Falding (33)Dave Johnson (383)Wayne Handley (378)
1998BirminghamGary Coyle (345) Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Howard Davis (327)
1999SwaffhamGary Castell (247)Andy Smith (391)Stephen Cooper (221)
2000Arena EssexPaul Harrison (2) Frankie Wainman Jnr (1)Peter Falding (33)
2001Cowdenbeath Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mark Gilbank (21)Ian Higgins (29)
2002KnockhillIvan Pritchard (434)Derek Fairhurst (218)Neil Shenton (35)
2003Belle VueStuart Smith Jnr (390)Paul Branson (125)Paul Harrison (2)
2004Hednesford Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Gary Castell (247)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)
2005SkegnessJames Neachell (322) Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Peter Falding (1)
2006Skegness Frankie Wainman Jnr (1)Dan Johnson (4)Mat Newson (16)
2007KnockhillAndy Smith (391)Paul Harrison (2)Dan Johnson (4)
2008KnockhillAndy Smith (391)Will Yarrow (22)Paul Harrison (2)
2009ScunthorpeAndy Smith (391)Joff Gibson (249) Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2010ScunthorpeAndy Smith (1)Tom Harris (84)Paul Harrison (2)
2011King's LynnCraig Finnikin (55)Dan Johnson (4)Paul Harrison (2)
2012StokeMark Gilbank (21)Joe Booth (446)John Lund (53)
2013StokeCraig Finnikin (55)Dan Johnson (4)Ryan Harrison (197)
2014LochgellyTom Harris (1)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Paul Poulter (174)
2015NorthamptonHenry Hunter (202)Mat Newson (16)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)
2016LochgellyLuke Davidson (464)Bradley Harrison (25)Tom Harris (84)
2017Belle VueJohn Dowson (94)Daniel Wainman (212)Frankie Wainman Jnr Jnr (555)
2018LochgellyNeil Scriven (11)Chris Cowley (37)Jacklin Ellis (219)
2020Event not held---
2021Event not held---

For more in-depth historical information in relation to the Bumper Trophy please follow the link below: