European Championship

European Championship


The European Championship was first contested in 1978, with the first European Championship contested over two legs at Long Eaton and Rochdale with Stuart Smith (391) the inaugural winner. From the 1979 season it has always been contested at a single meeting. The European Championship has been held ever since except for the 1980 season.

Northampton International Raceway has played host to the European Championship for the majority of its running, currently in an unbroken run having hosted it every year since 1994. For the 2018 championship it would switch surfaces, from tarmac to shale, as as the Brafield track become Northampton International Shaleway.

For the majority of its life, the top twenty drivers in the Grading Points were automatically seeded onto the grid, with a certain amount of overseas drivers, predominantly from Holland. The rest of the thirty-two car grid would be made up of drivers who would qualify during the meeting and/or weekend when the European was run. The title race was held in a closed grid, graded order style, in a similar order to how Grand Finals are contested just without the gaps between the grades. This made it rather difficult for the drivers at the back as they would need to battle through the field, they were helped slightly with the race contested over 25 laps, only the World Championship Final is contested over as many laps. The race was usually held as the first race on the Sunday of a weekend of racing.

In 2017 it was all change as the race adopted a full qualification method with no UK registered drivers automatically seeded onto the grid. With the racing held over a weekend and the races on Saturday night and Sunday counting towards qualification and the order in which the closed grid was made up, the top points scorer would be in “pole position” for the race. Nigel Green (445) would take the first win in this format.

How it Works


The European Championship is traditionally held over a weekend with the points scored on Saturday and Sunday determining qualifiers for the race that would double as the meeting final. Depending on attending drivers a certain number of overseas competitors will start automatically on rows 3, 6, 9, 12. The exact number depends on the drivers in attendance. Thirty-two drivers will start the race.

The Race

The race is held over twenty-five laps in a closed grid formation with the top points scorer in pole position, overseas drivers may be seeded onto rows 3,6,9,12.

Defending Champion – Frankie Wainman (515)

Title and Roof Colour

TitleEuropean Champion
Roof ColourRed and Yellow

Most Wins By A Driver

84/1Tom Harris4
515/1Frankie Wainman Jnr4
33/1Peter Falding3
53John Lund3
199Mike Close2
250Keith Chambers2
318Rob Speak2
2Paul Harrison2

Most Podiums By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515/1)12
2Paul Harrison (2/22)10
3Peter Falding (33/1)6
=John Lund (53)6
5Tom Harris (84/1)5
6Dan Johnson (4)4
=Mike Close (199)4
=Paul Hines (259)4
=Andy Smith (391)4
=Lee Fairhurst (217)4
11Mark Gilbank (21)3
=Ryan Harrison (197)3
=Dave Mellor (304)3
14Bert Finnikin (55)2
=Craig Finnikin (55)2
=Brian Powles (154)2
=Len Wolfenden (190)2
=Frankie Wainman (212)2
=Gary Castell (247)2
=Keith Chambers (250)2
=Rob Speak (318)2
=Stuart Smith Jnr (390)2
=Nigel Whorton (422)2
=Nigel Green (445)2
=Bobby Burns (471)2
=Ron Kroonder (H217)2
=Mat Newson (16)2

Full List Of Winners

1978Long Eaton (1st Leg)Stuart Smith (391)Brian Powles (154)Bert Finnikin (55)
1978Rochdale (2nd Leg)Stuart Smith (391)Dave Hodgson (272)Frankie Wainman (212)
1978OverallStuart Smith (391)Mike Close (199)Brian Powles (154)
1979HarringayGlyn Pursey (175)Mick Noden (306)Brian Wharton (408)
1980Event Not Held---
1981NorthamptonLen Wolfenden (190)Brian Powles (154)Frankie Wainman (212)
1982NorthamptonMike Close (199)Len Wolfenden (190)Rod Falding (36)
1983NorthamptonMike Close (199)Dave Mellor (304)Bert Finnikin (55)
1984NorthamptonJohn Cayzer (495)Harry Smith (100)Dave Mellor (304)
1985NorthamptonDanny Clarke (203)Dave Mellor (304)Mike Close (199)
1986SkegnessBert Finnikin (55)Bobby Burns (471)Dave Berresford (260)
1987AycliffeIan Smith (367)John Toulson (286)Richard Ainsworth (354)
1988NorthamptonFrankie Wainman (212)John Lund (53)Paul Harrison (22)
1989HednesfordJohn Lund (53)Peter Falding (33)Nigel Whorton (422)
1990SkegnessMike James (417)Paul Harrison (22)Bobby Burns (471)
1991NorthamptonPeter Falding (33)John Lund (53)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
1992HednesfordJohn Lund (53)Ron Kroonder (H217)Paul Harrison (2)
1993SkegnessPeter Falding (33)Nigel Whorton (422)Chris Elwell (501)
1994NorthamptonPeter Falding (1)Ron Kroonder (H217)John Lund (53)
1995NorthamptonFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Andy Smith (391)Peter Falding (33)
1996NorthamptonKeith Chambers (250)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Ray Witts (180)
1997NorthamptonKeith Chambers (250)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Gaz Bott (41)
1998NorthamptonPaul Harrison (2)Andy Smith (391)Jason Holden (38)
1999NorthamptonMurray Harrison (97)Andy Smith (391)Peter Falding (33)
2000NorthamptonRob Speak (318)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Paul Harrison (2)
2001NorthamptonRob Speak (318)Gary Castell (247)Paul Harrison (2)
2002NorthamptonJohn Lund (53)Paul Harrison (2)Mark Gilbank (21)
2003NorthamptonPaul Harrison (2)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Gary Castell (247)
2004NorthamptonNick Smith (51)Paul Harrison (2)Dave Schaap (H007)
2005NorthamptonPaul Hines (259)Carlos Perez (305)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2006NorthamptonFrankie Wainman Jnr (1)Marco Jenigga (H221)Paul Harrison (2)
2007NorthamptonJames Neachell (322)Ryan Harrison (197)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2008NorthamptonDan Johnson (4)Paul Hines (259)Mark Gilbank (21)
2009NorthamptonLee Fairhurst (217)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)Mark Gilbank (21)
2010NorthamptonLuke Davidson (464)Andy Smith (1)Chris Cowley (37)
2011NorthamptonMick Sworder (150)Danny Smidt (H148)Will Yarrow (22)
2012NorthamptonTom Harris (84)Dan Johnson (4)Craig Finnikin (55)
2013NorthamptonRyan Harrison (197)Dan Johnson (4)Paul Hines (259)
2014NorthamptonFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Danny Wainman (212)Mat Newson (16)
2015NorthamptonTom Harris (84)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2016NorthamptonDan Johnson (4)Nigel Green (445)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2017NorthamptonNigel Green (445)Ryan Harrison (197)Shaun Webster (48)
2018NorthamptonTom Harris (84)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)Will Hunter (220)
2019NorthamptonCraig Finnikin (55)Paul Hines (259)Tom Harris (84)
2020Event not held---
2021NorthamptonTom Harris (1)Lee Fairhurst (217)Mat Newson (16)
2022NorthamptonFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Phoebe Wainman (211)Frankie Wainman Jnr Jnr (555)

For more in-depth historical information in relation to the BriSCA F1 European Championship please follow the link below: