Steve Froggatt Memorial

The Steve Froggatt Memorial trophy is to remember Steve who was from Sheffield and first registered as 510 in 1980 before taking 240 for 1981. Not a prolific racer, Steve still managed two race wins. Both came in the same week in July 1982 with victories at his local track, Sheffield and at Rochdale. Steve was injured in a crash at Bradford at the end of May 1984. He was in intensive care in Leeds but never regained consciousness before passing away as a result of his injuries a few weeks later. 

The trophy was presented to the Grand National winner at the annual Trust Fund meeting, from 2006 onwards this has been presented to the top white/yellow top at the Trust Fund Meeting with a variety of different formats used to determine the winner.

Full List Of Winners

1988Long EatonJohn Lund (53)Chris Elwell (501)Ian Platts (77)
1989SheffieldJohn Lund (53)Frankie Wainman (212)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
1990BuxtonJohn Lund (53)Bobby Burns (471)Ian Platts (77)
1991BradfordDave Johnson (383)Bert Finnikin (55)Andy Hodgson (272)
1992SkegnessDave Toulson (86)Murray Harrison (97)Peter Falding (33)
1993SkegnessChris Elwell (501)Kev Smith (64)Mal Brown (34)
1994BradfordJohn Lund (53)Kev Smith (64)Steve Hodgson (272)
1995StokeAndy Smith (391)Wayne Handley (378)Mark Webster (226)
1996SkegnessJamie Davidson (464)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Peter Falding (33)
1997StokeJohn Lund (53)Andy Smith (391)Richard Mason (202)
1998NorthamptonRichard Mason (202)Chris Lloyd (284)Frankie Wainman Jnr (1)
1999King's LynnFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Paul Harrison (2)Mark Brightmore (477)
2000King's LynnMurray Harrison (97)Andy Jacklin (137)Mal Brown (34)
2001SheffieldFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Andy Robinson (140)Nigel Whalley (198)
2002SheffieldJohn Wright (128)Stuart Fellows (13)Mark Taylor (490)
2003King's LynnFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mark Woodhull (335)Paul Harrison (2)
2004CoventryKeith Roberts (171)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Lenny Smith (185)
2005CoventryRussell Cooper (415)Steve Cayzer (380)Simon Panton (288)
First White or Yellow grade across the line in the Grand Final
2006CoventrySam Lund (531)
2007CoventryAndy Powell (493)
2008CoventrySteve Malkin (308)
2009CoventryGraham Wagstaff (330)
2010CoventryGeoff Nickolls (215)
2011CoventrySteve Harrison (118)
Whites and Yellows Heat
2012CoventryChris Bonner (105)Dave Willis (337)Mark Poole (276)
First White or Yellow grade across the line in the Grand National
2013NorthamptonH19 Gerrit Zwerver
2014NorthamptonMichael Steward (512)
2015NorthamptonColin Goodswen (372)
2016NorthamptonMark Gray (224)
Race run as a Heat
2017NorthamptonAlex Wass (283)Stuart Shevill Jnr (518)Jacklyn Ellis (219)
2018NorthamptonRob Plant (364)H29 Durk GreidanusH61 Koen Maris
2019King's LynnJim Bamford (302)Mark Poole (276)Finn Sargent (526)