Wilf Blundell Trophy

Wilf Blundell Trophy

The Wilf Blundell Bowl is to remember Wilf Blundell from Southport who raced under numbers 150 and 75. Winning a number of finals in his career, he was also a lifetime BSCDA member and a former BSCDA Committee member for 14 years.

Wilf passed away from cancer in 1978 at which point the Wilf Blundell Bowl and Wilf Blundell Trophy were presented to drivers for winning specific races.

The Wilf Blundell Trophy is presented to the winner of the Grand National at one of the Semi Final meetings. The Semi Final for which the trophies are contested is decided by Wilf’s family.

Full List Of Winners

1980HartlepoolGlyn Pursey (175)Gerald Taylor (250)John Hillam (229)
1981SkegnessGlyn Pursey (175)Frankie Wainman (212)Len Wolfenden (190)
1982LeicesterRay Leigh (346)Dave Berresford (260)Brian Tuplin (155)
1983AycliffeBert Finnikin (55)Len Wolfenden (190)John Dowson (294)
1984LeicesterHarry Smith (100)Nigel Whorton (422)Chris Elwell (501)
1985CreweNigel Whorton (422)Frankie Wainman (212)Nigel Hardy (317)
1986SkegnessJohn Lund (53)Peter Falding (33)Bobby Burns (471)
1987BradfordFrankie Wainman (212)Ray Tyldesley (85)Ian Higgins (29)
1988NorthamptonNigel Whorton (422)Peter Falding (33)Danny Clarke (203)
1989SkegnessBobby Burns (471)Len Wolfenden (190)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
1990Long eatonJohn Wright (128)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mike James (417)
1991ScunthorpeKev Smith (64)Frankie Wainman (212)John Lund (53)
1992BradfordRichard Mason (202)John Lund (53)Bobby Burns (471)
1993BradfordBert Finnikin (55)Nigel Whorton (422)Phil Smith (109)
1994CoventryLisa Harter (24)Dave Berresford (260)Paul Harrison (2)
1995Long EatonChris Brocksopp (338)Peter Falding (33)Andy Smith (391)
1996BuxtonGaz Bott (41)Mike Smith (393)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
1997BradfordDerek Fairhurst (218)Andy Turner (488)Craig Howarth (52)
1998SkegnessFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)John Cayzer (495)Rob Pearce (175)
1999SheffieldAndy Smith (391)Andy Turner (488)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2000WimbledonAllen Bedford (289)Mark Gilbank (21)Chris Lloyd (284)
2001BirminghamAlan England Jnr (146)Warwick Ellis (39)Nick Smith (51)
2002SkegnessMatt Bennett (413)Kev Smith (64)Steve Cayzer (380)
2003BirminghamLee Robinson (107)Kevin Reed (23)Peter Falding (33)
2004BuxtonFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Gary Castell (247)Mark Gilbank (21)
2005King's LynnChris Brocksopp (338)Will Yarrow (22)Mat Newson (16)
2006King's LynnRussell Cooper (415)Murray Harrison (97)Mat Newson (16)
2007Belle VueAndy Smith (391)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)John Lund (53)
2008King's LynnMat Newson (16)George Heppenstall (189)Paul Hines (259)
2009SkegnessEd Neachell (321)Luke Davidson (464)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)
2010BuxtonAndy Smith (1)Tom Harris (84)Craig Utley (484)
2011Belle VueFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Dan Johnson (4)Tom Harris (84)
2012BirminghamPaul Hines (259)Tom Harris (84)Chris Cowley (37)
2013SheffieldFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Danny Wainman (212)Mat Newson (16)
2014SkegnessMichael Steward (512)Paul Harrison (2)Craig Finnikin (55)
2015Belle VueJohn Dowson (94)Paul Harrison (2)Tom Harris (84)
2016BuxtonFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Steven Webster (401)Mat Newson (16)
2017SkegnessStuart Smith Jnr (390)Nigel Green (445)Tom Harris (84)
2018King's LynnSam Jacklin (137)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)Bobby Griffin (166)
2019BuxtonFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Ashley England (346)Bobby Griffin (166)
2020Event not held---
2021King's LynnBobby Griffin (166)Tom Harris (1)Mat Newson (16)