North Eastern Drivers Championship

North Eastern Drivers Championship

Starting in 1966 at Aycliffe, the North Eastern Drivers Championship was first won by Arthur Gibson (141) who took back to back wins in 1966 and 1967.

The championship ran yearly until 1989 when Aycliffe, the track that hosted throughout this period closed.

With the event not held in 1990, the title would only be run twice more at Hartlepool in 1991 won by Russell Taylor (544) and 1996 won by Frankie Wainman Jnr (515).

With five wins all at Aycliffe, Stuart Smith (391) sits at the top of the list, two wins clear of John Lund (53).

The title last ran in 1996 and hasn’t been contested since.

Most Wins By A Driver

1Stuart Smith (391)5
2John Lund (53)3
=Mike Close (199)3
4Arthur Gibson (141)2
=John Hillam (229)2
=John Toulson (286)2

Most Podiums By A Driver

1Stuart Smith (391/1)9
=John Lund (53)9
3Mike Close (199)6
4John Hillam (229)4
5Willie Harrison (2)3
=Tony Neal (100)3
=Arthur Gibson (141)3
=Andy Stott (160)3
=Len Wolfenden (190)3
=Frankie Wainman (212)3
=John Toulson (286)3
12Harry Smith (100)2
=Oliver Smith (124)2
=Brian Powles (154)2
=Gerald Taylor (250)2
=John Dowson (294)2

Full List Of Winners

1966AycliffeArthur Gibson (141)Gordon Foster (125)Oliver Smith (124)
1967AycliffeArthur Gibson (141)Earl Testo (389)Dixie Deans (20)
1968AycliffeTony Neal (100)Bert Shipman (297)Ernie Dent (67)
1969AycliffeOliver Smith (124)Arthur Gibson (141)Tony Neal (100)
1970AycliffeGeorge Ansell (375)Brian Powles (154)John Hillam (229)
1971AycliffeStuart Smith (391)Willie Harrison (2)John Hillam (229)
1972AycliffeGerald Taylor (250)Tony Neal (100)Stuart Smith (391)
1973AycliffeStuart Smith (391)Brian Wallace (119)Frankie Wainman (212)
1974AycliffeJohn Hillam (229)Stuart Smith (391)Gordon Smith (293)
1975AycliffeJohn Hillam (229)Stuart Smith (391)Brian Powles (154)
1976AycliffeStuart Smith (391)Gerald Taylor (250)Sam Ostle (351)
1977AycliffeStuart Smith (391)Frankie Wainman (212)Mike Close (199)
1978AycliffeMike Close (199)Willie Harrison (2)John Lund (53)
1979AycliffeStuart Smith (391)Trevor Todd (138)Andy Stott (160)
1980AycliffeMike Close (199)Willie Harrison (2)Rod Falding (36)
1981AycliffeMike Close (199)John Lund (53)John Dowson (294)
1982AycliffeJohn Toulson (286)John Lund (53)Mike Close (199)
1983AycliffeJohn Lund (53)Andy Stott (160)Len Wolfenden (190)
1984AycliffeHarry Smith (100)Stuart Smith (1)Andy Stott (160)
1985AycliffeLen Wolfenden (190)John Toulson (286)Harry Smith (100)
1986AycliffeJohn Lund (53)Mike Close (199)Frank Hudson (489)
1987AycliffeJohn Lund (53)John Dowson (294)Richard Ainsworth (354)
1988AycliffeJohn Toulson (286)Frankie Wainman (212)Joe Jopling (452)
1989AycliffePeter Falding (33)John Lund (53)Len Wolfenden (190)
1990Event not held---
1991HartlepoolRussell Taylor (544)John Lund (53)David Toulson (86)
1992Event not held---
1993Event not held---
1994Event not held---
1995Event not held---
1996HartlepoolFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Ray Witts (180)John Lund (53)