Scottish Championship

Scottish Championship


The Scottish Championship is contested for when we travel north of the border to take a weekend of racing in Scotland. Typically over the last few trips north the Scottish Championship has been held at Cowdenbeath on the Saturday night and doubles up as the meeting Grand Final.

The Scottish was initially raced for in 1966 at the now defunct Stevenston circuit with Willie Harrison (2) taking the title, it would be a while before a 2nd name would be etched on the trophy.

Newton Grange was the next track to host the Scottish Championship in back to back years in 1986 and 1987. Both these title races would feature the same 3 drivers on the podium, with Bobby Burns (471) finishing 3rd on both occasions. John Lund (53) would take his first and only Scottish to date, beating home Frankie Wainman (212) who would beat Lund the following year when Frankie took his only Scottish title.

The Scottish was back between 2001 and 2009 at it’s new home of Cowdenbeath and would be held yearly during this period. Craig Uttley (484) the only driver to break the dominance of Frankie Wainman Jnr (515) and Andy Smith (391) who took five and three wins respectively.

After a break of five years we returned to Scotland in 2014 in what would become a regular occurrence of visiting Scotland every other year. Tom Harris (84) was denied three wins in a row by white grader Martin Spiers (451) in 2018 just holding on in the closing stages to take his first title in the sport in what was a brand new car on debut.

With five wins and eight podiums Frankie Wainman Jnr (515) is the most successful driver of the Scottish Championship.

How it Works

The Scottish Championship is awarded to the driver who wins the Grand Final with drivers starting in normal graded order.

Defending Champion – Simon Traves (47)

Photo: Colin Casserley
Photo: Colin Casserley

Title and Roof Colour

TitleScottish Champion
Roof ColourNone

Most Wins By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)5
2Andy Smith (391)3
3Tom Harris (84)2

Most Podiums By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)8
2Andy Smith (391)4
3Mark Gilbank (21)3
=Tom Harris (84)3
=Lee Fairhurst (217)3
6Paul Harrison (2)2
=John Lund (53)2
=Frankie Wainman (212)2
=Lee Fairhurst (217)2
=Gary Castell (247)2
=Paul Hines (259)2
=Rob Speak (318)2
=Bobby Burns (471)2
=Craig Utley (484)2

Full List Of Winners

1966StevenstonWille Harrison (2)Tony Neal (100)Ellis Ford (3)
1986Newton GrangeJohn Lund (53)Frankie Wainman (212)Bobby Burns (471)
1987Newton GrangeFrankie Wainman (212)John Lund (53)Bobby Burns (471)
2001CowdenbeathFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Rob Speak (318)Gary Castell (247)
2002CowdenbeathFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Ivan Pritchard (434)Mark Gilbank (21)
2003CowdenbeathFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Gary Castell (247)Paul Harrison (2)
2004CowdenbeathFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Paul Hines (259)Mark Gilbank (21)
2005CowdenbeathFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Paul Hines (259)Mark Gilbank (21)
2006CowdenbeathCraig Utley (484)Andy Smith (391)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2007CowdenbeathAndy Smith (391)Paul Harrison (2)Derek Fairhurst (218)
2008CowdenbeathAndy Smith (391)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Craig Utley (484)
2009CowdenbeathAndy Smith (391)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2014CowdenbeathTom Harris (84)Rob Speak (318)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2016CowdenbeathTom Harris (84)Mick Sworder (150)Michael Steward (512)
2018CowdenbeathMartin Spiers (451)Tom Harris (84)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2020Event not held---
2022CowdenbeathSimon Traves (47)Michael Scriven (12)Lee Fairhurst (217)

For more in-depth historical information in relation to the BriSCA F1 Scottish Championship please follow the link below: