World Cup – Holland

World Cup – Holland


The World Cup is a yearly competition held at the Venray Raceway in Holland. This is Dutch equivalent to the UK World Championship with Dutch registered drivers qualifying for the grid via points scored and UK drivers being seeded onto the grid. The World Cup was introduced following the demise of the Baarlo track nearby.

The World Cup is held usually in August with a gap in the schedule left in the UK usually seeing twenty plus drivers heading over to take part. Over the years we have seen a mix of Dutch and UK winners. The defending champion Luke Davidson (464) chose to qualify through the Dutch method and started further forward than if he’d have taken part in the time trials.

How it Works

Dutch Qualification

Throughout the year there are a number of Venray race meetings whereby the points scored go towards the World Cup grid with the Saturday night racing of the World Cup weekend also counting towards the grid. The top points scorer will start on pole.

UK Qualification

The top eight drivers in the UK grading points that are in attendance at the World Cup are automatically seeded into the race and take part in time trials on Saturday afternoon with the times setting rows 3, 5, 6 and 9. The rest of the UK drivers race on Saturday and the best performing drivers start on rows 12, 15, 16, 17 and 18.


The grid is organised based on the qualification above in a closed grid format. The race is run over 30 laps of the Venray track with the winner taking the trophy and the Gold Stripes.

Defending Champion

Luke Davidson (464)

Title and Roof Colour

TitleWorld Cup Champion
Roof Colour2x Gold Stripes

Most Wins By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)3
=Ron Kroonder (H217)3
=Henk Jan Ronitz (H240)3
4Tom Harris (84)2
=Gary Castell (H247)2
=Roy Maessen (H400)2

Most Podiums By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)10
2Ron Kroonder (H217)9
3Gary Castell (247/H247)6
4Louw Wobbes (H22)4
5Tom Harris (84)3
=Lee Robinson (H107)3
=Henk Jan Ronitz (H240)3
=Roy Maessen (H400)3
9Rob Speak (318)2
=Luke Davidson (464)2
=Dave Schaap (H007)2

Full List Of Winners

1999VenrayFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Gary Castell (247)Ron Kroonder (H217)
2000VenrayRon Kroonder (H217)Gary Castell (247)Louw Wobbes (H22)
2001VenrayHenk Jan Ronitz (H240)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Rob Speak (318)
2002VenrayWillie Peters (H24)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Ron Kroonder (H217)
2003VenrayHenk Jan Ronitz (H240)Sid Woudstrat (H227)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2004VenrayHenk Jan Ronitz (H240)Piet Keijzer (H10)Paul Hines (259)
2006VenrayFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Dave Shaap (H007)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)
2007VenrayRon Kroonder (H217)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Louw Wobbes (H22)
2008WarnetonLouw Wobbes (H22)Martin Verhoeff (H8)Gary Castell (H247)
2009VenrayRon Kroonder (H217)Dave Shaap (H007)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2010VenrayGary Castell (H247)Louw Wobbes (H22)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2011VenrayGary Castell (H247)Ron Kroonder (H217)Johan Catsburg (H99)
2012VenrayTom Harris (84)Gary Castell (H247)Lee Robinson (H107)
2013VenrayTom Harris (84)Lee Robinson (H107)Rob Speak (318)
2014VenrayDan Johnson (4)Geert-Jan Keijzer (H6)Lee Robinson (H107)
2015VenrayFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Danny Smidt (H148)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2016VenrayRoy Maessen (H400)Ron Kroonder (H217)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2017VenrayRyan Harrison (197)Nigel Green (445)Ron Kroonder (H217)
2018VenrayRoy Maessen (H400)Luke Davidson (464)Tom Harris (84)
2019VenrayLuke Davidson (464)Roy Maessen (H400)Ron Kroonder (H217)
2020Event not held---
2021Event not held---