Richard Ahern Memorial

The Richard Ahern Memorial trophy is to remember Richard (Richie). Richie came from a racing family from Romford, Essex and originally raced for the Spedeworth organisation and then the breakaway SCOTA series before coming into BriSCA Formula One in 1979. Richie won one Grand Final with SCOTA at Great Yarmouth in 1978 and then four with BriSCA at Northampton, Harringay, Sheffield and Leicester. Richie was injured in a crash at Coventry in 1981 and sadly never recovered from his injuries. The Ahern family continued with stock cars and supported Bobby Burns (471), also from Romford, and later with Darren Ahern also racing the 471 number.

First staged at Leicester in 1983, the trophy was originally staged at a different meeting each year, but since 1988 the trophy has been handed out initially to the winner of the Grand Final at the Trust Fund meeting but since 2006, this has been the Grand National race at the same meeting.

Full List Of Winners

1983LeicesterGlyn Pursey (175)Mo Smith (51)Dave Taylor (136)
1984Belle VueBobby Burns (471)Len Wolfdenden (190)Jon Lander (23)
1985CoventryJohn Thorpe (433)Nigel Hardy (317)Graham Blundell (156)
1986NorthamptonRichard Ainsworth (354)John Cayzer (495)Bobby Burns (471)
1987NorthamptonAndy Webb (247)Bobby Burns (471)Chris Elwell (501)
1988Long EatonJohn Lund (53)Peter Falding (33)John Cayzer (495)
1989SheffieldJohn Lund (53)Ray Tyldesley (85)Peter Falding (33)
1990BuxtonBert Finnikin (55)Danny Clarke (203)Harry Smith (100)
1991BradfordDanny Clarke (203)Peter Falding (33)Dave Berresford (260)
1992SkegnessJohn Lund (53)Andy Hodgson (272)Phil Smith (109)
1993SkegnessFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Chris Elwell (501)John Lund (53)
1994BradfordPhil Smith (109)Steve Hodgson (172)Kev Smith (64)
1995StokeJamie Davidson (464)Paul Harrison (2)John Lund (53)
1996SkegnessPaul Harrison (2)Chris Lloyd (284)Jamie Davidson (464)
1997BradfordJohn Lund (53)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Derek Fairhurst (218)
1998NorthamptonGaz Bott (41)Keith Chambers (250)Mark Gilbank (21)
1999Belle VueDave Johnson (383)Ray Witts (180)Mark Webster (226)
2000King's LynnKlaas Wink (H253)Tony Williams (83)Andy Smith (391)
2001SheffieldFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Chris Brocksopp (338)Mark Gilbank (21)
2002SheffieldFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)John Lund (53)Phil Smith (109)
2003King's LynnDave Willis (337)John Walker (70)Murray Harrison (97)
2004CoventryStuart Smith Jnr (390)Barry Heath (343)Craig Finnikin (55)
2005CoventryPaul Phillips (263)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mark Gilbank (21)
2006CoventryNigel Whalley (198)Mick Harris (8)Andy Smith (391)
2007CoventryAndy Powell (493)Chris Bonner (105)Steve Cayer (380)
2008Belle VueJames Potter (146)Peter Falding (33)Ed Neachell (321)
2009CoventryMark Gilbank (21)Craig Finnikin (55)Gary Fox (480)
2010CoventryFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mark Woodhull (335)Andy Smith (1)
2011CoventryRyan Harrison (197)Tom Harris (84)Mat Newson (16)
2012CoventryJohn Lund (53)Dan Johnson (4)Mat Newson (16)
2013NorthamptonLee Fairhurst (217)Lee Robinson (107)Danny Wainman (212)
2014NorthamptonRob Speak (318)Danny Wainman (212)Mat Newson (16)
2015CoventryRob Speak (318)Mark Gilbank (21)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)
2016NorthamptonMark Gray (224)Ed Neachell (321)Shaun Webster (48)
2017NorthamptonDan Johnson (4)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)Frankie Wainman Jnr (1)
2018NorthamptonBruce Potveer (H62)Michael Scriven (12)Koen Maris (H61)
2019King's LynnLee Fairhurst (217)Karl Roberts (313)Liam Gilbank (20)