World Masters

World Masters


The World Masters is an annual event held on the day after the World Final. Occurring every year since 1988 and exclusively held at Northampton, the championship has been won by a number of drivers. It’s also the traditional first glimpse at a hastily repainted aerofoil of the new World Champion.

Both Stuart Smith Jnr (390/1) and Nigel Green (445) hold the unique record of having won the World Final on the Saturday and the World Masters on the Sunday.

Another surprising fact is that not a single driver has one it more than once. For much if it’s life the title was held on tarmac until 2018 when Northampton was resurfaced with shale. The first winner of title held on shale was Lourenz de Vries (H79), taking the title back home to Holland.

How it Works

The World Masters trophy is awarded to the driver who wins the Grand Final with drivers starting in normal graded order.

Defending Champion – Mat Newson (16)

Photo: Ant Jenkins

Title and Roof Colour

TitleWorld Masters
Roof ColourNone

Most Wins by a Driver

No driver has won this title more than once.

Most Podiums By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)9
2Paul Hines (259)4
=Ivan Pritchard (434)4
4Paul Harrison (2)3
=Craig Finnikin (55)3
=Tom Harris (84)3
=Lee Fairhurst (217)3
8Dan Johnson (4)2
=Mat Newson (16)2
=Mark Gilbank (21)2
=Stuart Smith Jnr (390/1)2
=Andy Smith (391)2
=Nigel Green (445)2
=Mat Newson (16)2

Full List Of Winners

1999NorthamptonChris Lloyd (284)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Andy Smith (391)
2000NorthamptonSteven Cooper (221)Ivan Pritchard (434)Paul Harrison (2)
2001NorthamptonIvan Pritchard (434)Rob Speak (318)Corny De Brun (H9)
2002NorthamptonNick Smith (51)Paul Harrison (2)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2003NorthamptonFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Gary Castell (247)Peter Falding (33)
2004NorthamptonMark Gilbank (21)Paul Harrison (2)John Lund (53)
2005NorthamptonDave Schaap (H007)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2006NorthamptonMat Newson (16)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)David Squire (311)
2007NorthamptonStuart Smith Jnr (1)Dan Johnson (4)Paul Hines (259)
2008NorthamptonEd Neachell (321)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Andy Smith (391)
2009NorthamptonTom Harris (84)Craig Finnikin (55)Mark Gilbank (21)
2010NorthamptonPaul Hines (259)Craig Finnikin (55)Tom Harris (84)
2011NorthamptonDave Riley (422)Mark Allen (161)Paul Hines (259)
2012NorthamptonIvan Pritchard (434)Shaun Blakemore (221)Paul Hines (259)
2013NorthamptonLee Fairhurst (217)Robert Broome (41)Mike James (417)
2014NorthamptonMick Sworder (150)Tom Harris (84)Ivan Pritchard (434)
2015NorthamptonPaul Ford (388)Dave Allen (499)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2016NorthamptonMichael Scriven (12)Mat Newson (16)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
2017NorthamptonNigel Green (445)Lee Fairhurst (217)Ben Riley (422)
2018NorthamptonLourenz De Vries (H79)Dan Johnson (4)Nigel Green (445)
2019NorthamptonDanny Wainman (212)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Craig Finnikin (55)
2020Event not held---
2021NorthamptonNigel de Kock (525)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Joshua Smith (191)
2022NorthamptonMat Newson (16)Jake Walker (289)Mitch Vickery (NZ3)