UK Open Championship

UK Open Championship


The UK Open Championship was first run in the 1990 season with John Lund (53) coming out victorious at Northampton. Over the years the UK Open has been held at various venues including Crewe, Hartlepool, Birmingham and King’s Lynn. Since the 2005 season the UK Open has been run at Skegness every year, usually as part of a weekend of racing in early May. With his fifth win in 2015, Frankie Wainman Jnr (515/1) became the most successful driver in the UK Open breaking a tie with Andy Smith (391/1).

Since 2015, the title has been dominated by the lower graders who have took three out of the four wins. Before that the Cowley family held the title two years in a row, with Rob taking the title in 2012 and his son Chris taking the title in 2013, a rare piece of history in any sport.

The UK Open is held over a weekend of racing in May, with Saturday night seeing drivers usually racing for World Championship Qualifying Points and Sunday being qualification and the Championship race.

How it Works


The racing of Sunday will determine who will qualify for the championship race. Nobody is guaranteed a spot and everyone must race to gain enough points to qualify. The points are usually expanded down to fifteenth position to give everyone the best opportunity to score. The grid limit is set to thirty-two cars.


The race is held over twenty laps with the grid formed in normal graded order with normal gaps between the grades. The drivers within their grades will be ordered based on their performance through the qualification process with the top points scorer starting off the front of the grade.

Defending Champion – Tom Harris (84)

Title and Roof Colour

TitleUK Open Champion
Roof ColourNone

Most Wins By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515/1)5
2Andy Smith (391)4
3John Lund (53)3

Most Podiums By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr (515/1)13
2Andy Smith (391/1)9
3Paul Harrison (2)6
4Tom Harris (84)5
5Murray Harrison (97)4
6Mat Newson (16)3
=John Lund (53)3
=Lee Fairhurst (217)3
=Stuart Smith Jnr (390)3
10Rob Cowley (73)2
=Steven Cayzer (380)2
=Luke Davidson (464)2
=Nigel Green (445)2

Full List Of Winners

1990NorthamptonJohn Lund (53)Peter Falding (33)Ian Higgins (29)
1991HartlepoolNigel Whorton (422)Bert Finnkin (55) David Toulson (86)
1992CreweJohn Lund (53)Wilf Warnes (91)Dave Berresford (260)
1993HartlepoolAndy Smith (391)Kev Smith (64)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)
1994HartlepoolJohn Lund (53)Steve Hodgson (172)Andy Smith (391)
1995SkegnessAndy Smith (391)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Paul Harrison (2)
1996BirminghamGaz Bott (41)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Jamie Davidson (464)
1997SkegnessAndy Smith (391)Keith Chambers (250)Murray Harrison (97)
1998SkegnessMurray Harrison (97)Andy Smith (391)Richard Brighton (329)
1999SkegnessPaul Harrison (2)Frankie Wainman (212)Mark Gilbank (21)
2000SkegnessAndy Smith (391)Mark Woodhull (335)Murray Harrison (97)
2001SkegnessFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Steven Cayzer (380)Steve Booth (446)
2002SkegnessSteven Cayzer (380)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Paul Harrison (2)
2003SkegnessFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Mark Clayton (225)Dan Squire (291)
2004King's LynnSimon Panton (288)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Rob Cowley (73)
2005SkegnessIvan Pritchard (434)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)James Neachell (322)
2006SkegnessFrankie Wainman Jnr (1)Carlos Perez (305)Andy Smith (391)
2007SkegnessDan Johnson (4)Paul Harrison (2)Andy Smith (391)
2008SkegnessDavid Hopkins (447)Craig Finnikin (55)Derek Fairhurst (218)
2009SkegnessFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Lee Fairhurst (217)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)
2010SkegnessSteve Thompson (385)Tom Harris (84)Andy Smith (1)
2011SkegnessLee Fairhurst (217)Mat Newson (16)Colin Goodswen (372)
2012SkegnessRob Cowley (73)Luke Davidson (464)Stuart Smith Jnr (390)
2013SkegnessChris Cowley (37)Murray Harrison (97)Mat Newson (16)
2014SkegnessStuart Smith Jnr (390)Mat Newson (16)Tom Harris (84)
2015SkegnessFrankie Wainman Jnr (515)Tom Harris (84)Paul Harrison (2)
2016SkegnessNeil Scriven (11)Todd Jones (186)Paul Harrison (2)
2017SkegnessHarry Steward (126)Luke Davidson (464)Tom Harris (84)
2018SkegnessNigel Green (445)Alex Wass (283)Lee Fairhurst (217)
2019SkegnessKyle Gray (124)Ryan Harrison (197)John Fortune (164)
2020Event not held---
2021SkegnessShaun Webster (48)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Nigel Green (445)
2022SkegnessTom Harris (1)Frankie Wainman Jnr (515)Wim Peeters (H124)

For more in-depth historical information in relation to the BriSCA F1 UK Open Championship please follow the link below: