World 240 Invitational SuperStocks Championship – New Zealand

World 240 Invitational SuperStocks Championship – New Zealand


The World 240 Invitational SuperStocks Championship is hosted annually by Paradise Valley Speedway in Rotorua.

The best that New Zealand has to offer are joined by international drivers usually travelling from the UK, Netherlands and America.

The winner of this championship gets invited to compete in the BriSCA F1 stock car racing World Championship along with the winner of the New Zealand SuperStocks Championship in a fully funded campaign.

How It Works

Drivers from New Zealand battle to qualify for this event whilst five international drivers are automatically seeded into the finals together with the defending World 240s Champion and the winner of the second tier championship held on finals night.

Unlike the UK World Championship, which is held as a standalone race, the World 240s Championship is held over three races of fifteen laps each. The top points scorer over the three races will be crowned champion meaning a DNF in one race can make it near impossible of clinching the title.

In the event of a tie, a run off between the drivers will determine the winner.

Defending Champion – Jason Long (2NZ)

Most Title Wins By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr3
=Simon Joblin3
2Roydon Collingwood2
=Barry Podjursky2
=Darcy Hunter2
=Shane Penn2
=Peter Bengston2
=Scott Joblin2
Frankie Wainman Jnr shares the record of most World 240 wins with Simon Joblin – Photo: Wainman Racing & Matthew Goring

Most Podiums By A Driver

1Frankie Wainman Jnr7
2Peter Bengston5
3Shane Penn4
=Scott Joblin4
5Barry Podjursky3
=Darcy Hunter3
=Roydon Collingwood3
=Simon Joblin3
=Jayden Ward3
=Jason Long3

Full List Of Winners

YearChampion2nd3rdBest Overseas DriverPosition
1987Chris ElwellBrian McPheeNorm DempsterChris Elwell1st
1988Dave EvansRobin Wildbore/John Lund/Paul Ulrich-John Lund2nd
1989Paul WhitcombeBobert JamesGary NickelJohn Lund6th
1990Paul UlrichGraeme BarrBryce PennMurray Harrison14th
1991Barry PodjurskyFrank Van VroonhovenGary ParkesBert Finnikin13th
1992Greg JohnstonLyall RumneyDave EvansStuart Smith4th
1993Bryce PennShane PennFrank Van VroonhovenJohn Lund12th
1994Ian CarlyleClark ProctorNeville StanawayJohn Lund11th
1995Roydon CollingwoodBarry PodjurskyShane PennPeter Falding7th
1996Roydon CollingwoodRowan YandleDaryl UhlenbergJohn Lund5th
1997Frankie Wainman JnrBarry HunterDave TennantFrankie Wainman Jnr1st
1998Tony WhittakerCraig PierceScott MiersFrankie Wainman Jnr11th
1999Tony McLanachanRodney WoodCraig BooteFrankie Wainman Jnr5th
2000Frankie Wainman JnrKelvin GreyTony McLanachanFrankie Wainman Jnr1st
2001Barry PodjurskyBrian MusgroveKelvin GreyAlan Skayman10th
2002Darcy HunterCraig PierceNeil McCoardFrankie Wainman Jnr14th
2003Wayne HemiNick FowlerFrankie Wainman JnrFrankie Wainman Jnr3rd
2004Gary ParkesStan HickeyLionel PennMurray Harrison6th
2005Darcy HunterStan HickeyFrankie Wainman JnrFrankie Wainman Jnr3rd
2006Simon JoblinNeville StanawayDarcy HunterFrankie Wainman Jnr7th
2007Shane PennDale EwersFrankie Wainman JnrFrankie Wainman Jnr3rd
2008Peter BengstonScott RedfernRoydon CollingwoodFrankie Wainman Jnr4th
2009Frankie Wainman JnrPat WestburyMalcolm NgataiFrankie Wainman Jnr1st
2010Scott JoblinJoe FaramDale RobertsonFrankie Wainman Jnr4th
2011Peter ReesScott JoblinGraeme BarrFrankie Wainman Jnr7th
2012Andy McCabeDavid ElsworthPeter BengstonPaul Harrison4th
2013Shane PennPhil OgleShane HarwoodDanny Wainman16th
2014Peter BengstonFrankie Wainman JnrAsher ReesFrankie Wainman Jnr2nd
2015Bryce SteinerJordan DareScott JoblinFrankie Wainman Jnr8th
2016Scott JoblinAdam JoblinBryce SteinerDaniel Van Spijker12th
2017Simon JoblinJayden WardPeter BengstonFrankie Wainman Jnr6th
2018Simon JoblinJordan DareWayne HemiFrankie Wainman Jnr6th
2019Benji SneddonThomas StanawayJayden WardLee Fairhurst10th
2020Keegan LeivenJason LongNick VallanceFrankie Wainman Jnr6th
2021Jack MiersJason LongJayden Ward--
2022Jason LongPeter BengstonMitch Vickery--